International Election Results

Home / News / International Election Results
International Election Results

The successful candidates from the 2017/18 International Election were announced on Friday during the Mid Year Meeting currently underway in Valparaíso, Chile.

Mrs Jennifer Jones, from Region Australia (Area Asia Pacific) was duly elected as International President Elect for 2018/19. Jennifer is the third woman to hold the position (Rachelle Reeg, Joan Wilson) and just three other Australians have been elected to IPE since 1922 (Bruce Price, Arthur Cowling, Dale Fotheringham).

Just one Area required an ICM election this year. Europe voted to fill two vacant seats and they were won by Mr Ulrik Lauridsen, Denmark (Denmark Region) and Mr Svein Rødset, Norway (Norway Region).

All other new ICMs/ICMs(E) were elected unopposed:

  • Asia Pacific – ICM (Young) 2018-20 – Mr Thacis Thoumiyan Soundaram, Sri Lanka (Sri Lanka Region)
  • Canada/Caribbean – AP(E)/ICM(E) 2018-19, AP/ICM 2019-21 – Mr Murray Dunbar, Canada (Maritimes Region)
  • Korea – AP(E)/ICM 2018-19, AP/ICM 2019-20 – Mr Kim Sang-chae, Korea (Korea Bu-Ul-Gyeong Region)
  • USA – AP(E)/ICM(E) 2018-19, AP/ICM 2019-21 – Mr Robert (Bobby) Stivers-Apiki, USA (Hawaii Region)

All six proposed amendments to the International Constitution (Voting Paper 2) were approved by the clubs. The revised Constitution will be available soon from the website.

Full details: